Fort Dodge Community School District

FDSH A Cappella Choir Receives Gold Rating at WorldStrides Festival

April 1, 2017

FDSH A Cappella Choir Receives Gold Rating at WorldStrides Festival

March 31, 2017, Fort Dodge, IA-  The Fort Dodge Senior High A Cappella Choir traveled to Chicago to perform and compete at the WorldStrides OnStage Heritage Music Festival on Saturday, March 25. Based on their performance scores the choir received a Gold Rating, which brings with it an open invitation to a WorldStrides Festival of Gold. The WorldStrides Festival of Gold brings together top high school and collegiate music ensembles from across the country. The group was awarded first place for concert choirs in their class, and straight Superior ratings from the adjudicators.

"I could not be more proud of this group for their continued commitment to excellence and artistry,” said Matt Drees, FDSH vocal instructor.  “This wonderful group of students represented Fort Dodge and the Fort Dodge Community School District in the highest of fashions both with their music and their conduct away from home." 

The trip included additional experiences outside of the music festival. The group stopped at Wartburg College on the way to Chicago to participate in one of their choral conducting classes, perform during a chapel service, and work with their choral director, Dr. Lee Nelson. They also performed a joint concert with the Meistersinger Choir from Cedar Rapids Jefferson High School. Aside from the festival experience in Chicago, the students also visited Millenium Park, the Cloud Gate structure, and the Willis Tower Skydeck, and took in a dinner and show at Medieval Times. 


Members of the A Cappella Choir include: Hannah Amhof, Emily Asay, Natalie Peterson, Taylor Potter, Kristin Swanson, Taylor Willer, Annie Laird, Kearstyn Lennon, Karisa Meier, Adyson McKinney, Olivia Mitchell, Hannah Reynoso, Olyvia Selby, Andrea Blocker, Anna Bruen, Brie Evans, Gretta Leigh, Erin Rogers, Emma Stackhouse, Kirsten Wendell, Courtney Cordle, Cate Hatton, Keziah Henkelman, Beth Murman, Skyler Nielsen, Chelsea Sayer, Sydnee Waggoner, Jeremy Brower, Dartangan Dohrn, Luke Durand, Max Halligan, Nathan Hayes, Ashton Acree, Hunter Alexander, Brayden Bell, JR Brandt, Holden Harrison, Cade Kofoot, Izzy Quintana, Eli Asay, Cole Davis, Collin Ellsbury, Mitchell Emery, Landon Getting, Brayden Peterson, Luke Beckman, James Curtis, Max Hanish, Chris Hatton, Jamie Lennon, Kody Richardson and Justin Vaughan.

The mission of the Fort Dodge Community School District is to provide quality learning experiences and build relationships that develop productive citizens ready for their futures. For more information about the Fort Dodge Community Schools visit or call 515.576.1161.  Our Schools. Our Community. Our Pride.




« Back

© 2019 Fort Dodge Community School District. All rights reserved.