Fort Dodge Community School District

Job Opportunities Available for 2022-2023               22-23 School Supply Lists

FDSH Announces 2020 Senior Athletic Award Winners

June 8, 2020

June 8, 2020, Fort Dodge, IA-  Fort Dodge Senior High is proud to announce the 2020 Senior Athletic Award Winners.

The Mitch Sterns Outstanding Wrestler Award recipient is Carson Taylor.  Taylor was active in wrestling and lettered all four years of his high school career. He was a State-wrestling qualifier three years.  He placed third in the state his sophomore year, was a state champion his junior year and finished second his senior year.  Taylor was also exemplary in the classroom with a GPA of 3.231. The Mitch Sterns Award was established in 1976 in memory of the state champion. The award goes to the senior wrestler who best exemplifies good sportsmanship, citizenship, dedication and hard work.

The Michehl Outstanding Senior Male Basketball Player Award recipient is Tysen Kershaw. Kershaw was an integral part of the Fort Dodge basketball program.  He was a three-year varsity starter, earning Honorable Mention status as a sophomore and 2nd Team All-Conference honors during his junior and senior seasons.  He served as captain this past season and led the team in every statistical category.  Despite his individual success, he always put the success of the team before his own.  Off the court, he was a solid student and outstanding role model.  The Michehl Award was established in 1980 as a memorial to Craig Michehl and is given to an outstanding senior basketball player who best represents the qualities of sportsmanship, dedication, citizenship and hard work.

The Lawson Award recipients are Demetrius Grantham and Madigan Peimann.  Grantham was a state swimming alternate this year. He competed in the 50 yard freestyle, 100 yard freestyle, 100 yard breaststroke and 200 yard medley relay as a Dodger swimmer. He was also involved in A Capella and jazz band. Grantham was also strong academically finishing his high school career with a 3.472 GPA.  Peimann was a four year swimmer for the Dodgers while attending St. Edmond.  She was a conference champion in the 100 freestyle, and a member of the conference champion 400 freestyle relay team. She was a State qualifier in the 100 freestyle, placing 27th, and in the 100 backstroke, finishing 26th.  The Lawson Award is presented annually to the outstanding senior swimmer, male and female, who has participated in the State swim meet during high school.

The Robert Smiley Scholarship Award nominee from FDSH was Loghen Schnetzer. Schnetzer was on the Honor Roll her sophomore, junior and seniors years finishing with a 3.0 GPA. She was a recipient of both the Senior Math and Science Awards. She was a Triple Threat (volleyball, basketball and softball) Award winner her freshman and sophomore years. She is a four year member of the softball team receiving Honorable Mention All Conference honors her freshman year, 2nd team All Conference her sophomore year and 1st Team All Conference her junior year. The Robert Smiley Scholarship is offered by the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union and the Smiley family in honor of the longtime IGHSAU Associate Executive Secretary who passed away in 2003. Each high school is limited to one nomination.

The Bernie Saggau Award recipient is Brycen Bell. Bell was a member of the National Honor Society for the past two years. He has been active in football, track and baseball for three years.  He received the All-Academic Award every season since 9th grade. In track, he was a State and Drake Relays qualifier all three years he ran in high school. As a junior, he was part of the 4x200 that placed 5th at the State meet and was on the 4x100 that finished 8th. He also holds school records in the 4x100 and sprint medley relay. On the gridiron, he was named to the 2nd Team All-District team as a junior and senior.  On the diamond, he has been the starting center fielder for the past two seasons.  Bell also maintains excellence in the classroom, graduating with a 3.518 GPA. The Bernie Saggau Award began in 1990. It is presented annually to the graduating student who best exemplifies a patriotic spirit, with strong religious and moral convictions, living and professing the qualities of honesty, integrity and sportsmanship; believing that both games and life should be conducted by rules.  This award is voted on by the entire Senior High coaching staff.

The Florence Nordman Award recipient is Kathryn Cochrane. Cochrane was a four year letter winner in tennis and three year letter winner in volleyball. She earned 5th and 3rd in doubles districts and 3rd in singles district in tennis.  She was Honorable Mention All Conference CIML Iowa Division her junior and senior year in volleyball.  She also added the Jackie Wilde Scholarship award to her collection as a senior. Cochrane maintained a GPA of 4.00 and is 1 of 3 valedictorians this year as well as a member of the National Honor Society. The Florence Nordman Award is giving annually to a senior girl who is considered to be the most outstanding senior athlete. The selection is made by a vote of the Senior High coaching staff.

 The Schultz Award recipient is Tysen Kershaw. Kershaw was involved in football, basketball, and track throughout his four years of high school influencing successful seasons along the way.   In football, he was three year starter, career program leader in receptions and receiving yards. He was twice named to All District teams. He is one of only two athletes ever to be named to the elite All State team twice. He finished his career ranked statistically in the top ten in three receiver categories (touchdowns, receptions and yards). In track as a junior, he was a three-time State qualifier and ran at the Drake Relays. He was the anchor for the 4x200 that placed 5th at the State track meet and he anchored the 4x100 that finished 8th. He also holds school records in the 4x100 and sprint medley relay.   In basketball, he was a three year varsity starter.  He earned Honorable Mention status as a sophomore and 2nd Team All Conference honors during his junior and senior seasons.  He served as the team captain and was selected as the Michehl Award winner, which recognizes the most outstanding senior basketball player. The Schultz Award is given annually to a senior boy who is considered the most outstanding senior athlete.  The selection is made by a vote of the Senior High coaching staff.

The mission of the Fort Dodge Community School District is to provide quality learning experiences and build relationships that develop productive citizens ready for their futures. For more information about the Fort Dodge Community Schools visit or call 515.576.1161.  Our Schools. Our Community. Our Pride.

« Back

© 2022 Fort Dodge Community School District. All rights reserved.