Fort Dodge Community School District

2024 - 2025 FDCSD One Page Calendar

Job Opportunities

FDSH Holds Solo Ensemble Festival

April 28, 2021

April 27, 2021, Fort Dodge, IA-  Students in the Fort Dodge Senior High instrumental music department recently participated in the 2021 Solo and Ensemble Festival.  Students from the band and orchestra were judged on 31 performances and participated in short clinics with the judges.

Abby Meyer received a Best of Center Award for her alto saxophone solo and Ben Meyer received a Best of Center Award for his trumpet solo.  Additional results were as follows:

Division I (Superior) Ratings (* denotes a perfect score):

  • Flute Choir – Bethany Pyland, Grace Casciato, Hailey Folsom, Macey Peterson, Reese Pederson, Lydia Schiek and Olivia Wood
  • Clarinet Choir – Allison Jordison, Grace Tolliver, Aliyah Henry, Maria Sande, Nahila Bracey, Abby Meyer, Reagan Black and Britta McCollum
  • Piano Solo – Nathan Rethwisch
  • Violin Solo – Grace Casciato
  • Violin Solo – Victoria Pavik
  • Flute Solo – Grace Casciato *
  • Salty Saxes – Nathan Rethwisch, Gracie Miller, Makenna Kammerer, Abby Meyer, Maddy Vinchattle, Reagan Black and Britta McCollum *
  • Eb Clarinet Solo – Allison Jordison
  • Clarinet Solo – Grace Tolliver *
  • Flute Solo – Hailey Folsom
  • Clarinet Solo – Aliyah Henry
  • Bass Clarinet Solo – Reagan Black *
  • Alto Saxophone Solo – Abby Meyer
  • Trumpet Solo – Ben Meyer
  • Wind Ensemble Trumpets – Josh Meier, Ben Meyer, Aaron Amhof, Austin Jorgensen, Brayden Schmieder and Gavin Piper
  • Wind Ensemble Percussion – Matt Anderson, Ryan Cravens, Alexis Kenney, Sydney Gebers, Jocelyn Walters and Elijah Yates
  • Trumpet Trio – Josh Meier, Ben Meyer, Aaron Amhof
  • Trombone Quartet – Jaydon Charlson, Cole Hamlow, Ryan Madden and Kate Tyre
  • Trombone Quintet – Jaydon Charlson, Cole Hamlow, Ryan Madden, Anna Marxen and Kate Tyre
  • Percussion Solo – Sydney Gebers
  • Trumpet Solo – Aaron Amhof
  • Percussion Quartet – Sydney Gebers, Lauren Hamilton, Aliyah Henry, Hope Miller and Aliyah Henry

Division II (Excellent) Ratings

  • Flute Solo – Reese Pederson
  • Bb Clarinet Solo – Allison Jordison
  • Alto Saxophone Solo – Makenna Kammerer
  • Trombone Solo – Matthias Hippen
  • Tuba Solo – Sol Birkey
  • Euphonium Solo – Ethan Bloom
  • Euphonium Quintet – Isabel Beekman, Ethan Bloom, Isabel Gruver, Kyle Lumsden and Hailey Miklo
  • Trombone Sextet – Matthias Hippen, Carson Kahler, Anna Marxen, Michael Miller, Gavin Piper and Madison Pommer
  • Mallet Solo – Dom Berry

“These ratings reflect the time, energy and effort our students put into their performances,” said Al Paulson, FDSH band instructor. “The students will use the feedback from the judges to improve individually, which will make our large groups even stronger, too.”

« Back

© 2024 Fort Dodge Community School District. All rights reserved.