Fort Dodge Community School District

Job Opportunities                    FDSH Musical Tickets

FDSH Large Group Speech Team Qualifies 16 Entries for State at District Competition

February 2, 2023

Fort Dodge Senior High students prepared 22 entries for the Iowa High School Speech Association District Large Group Speech Contest.  Sixteen Fort Dodge Senior High speech groups received Varsity Division I ratings and will move on to the State Large Group Speech Contest on February 4. 

Varsity Division I Ratings:

  • Choral Reading - The Highwayman - Grant Behrens, Sol Birkey, Tiffany Garber, Tristen Holst, Cortney Hoover, Anna Lawrence, Hope Miller, April Nave, Madison Pommer, Amelia Rake, Julia Sande
  • Ensemble Acting - Mirrors - Aaron Amhof, Joshua Madden, Brayden Schmieder, Gabby Schumacher, Reese Pederson
  • Ensemble Acting - The Wrong Ring - Ella Champagne, Lexie McHone, Madison Sullivan, Drake Wertz
  • Group Improvisation - BCMS - Nathan Beekman, Mikeal Campbell, Jacob Marxen, Jack Shimkat
  • Group Improvisation - CDD - Darilynn Cook, Katie Dawson
  • Group Improvisation - JJPRT - Trice Jakeman, Lilly Johnson, Madison Pommer, Amelia Rake, Hannah Tolle
  • Group Mime - Villain or Vigilante - Gabriela de Aruajo, Bowie Sanders
  • Solo Mime - Paper Jam - Bowie Sanders 
  • Musical Theatre - Into the Woods - Aaron Amhof, Nahila Bracey, Abbi Casciato, Micah Flaherty, Lilly Johnson, Ryan Madden, Lexie McHone, Reese Pederson* (sub for Grace Casciato)
  • Musical Theatre - Heathers - Chloe Balm, Nevaeh Calderia, Mikeal Campbell, Camden Doster, Abraham Fisher, Chris Hulsbus, Jayden Lennon, Gabby Schumacher
  • Musical Theatre - Frankenstein - Ella Champagne, Sydney Gebers, Joshua Madden, Abby Meyer, Reese Pederson, Brayden Schmieder, Michael Wagner, Olivia Wood
  • One Act Play - Trial of the Wicked Witch - Chloe Balm, Grace Behrens, Sol Birkey, Nahila Bracey, Nevaeh Caldeira, Abbi Casciato, Aliyah Henry, Tristen Holst, Cortney Hoover, Chris Hulsebus, Jayden Lennon, Hope Miller, Sarah Ramthun, Madison Sullivan, Hannah Tolle, Hailey Vogel, Drake Wertz
  • Radio Broadcasting - Dallas Radio News - Drayton Miller, April Naeve, Josie Novencido, Lawson O'Brien, Evan Pratt
  • Short Film - Bang! - Reigan Grossnickle, Trice Jakeman, Evan Pratt, Jack Shimkat
  • Short Film - Sound of Silence: The 14% - Dominic Berry, Tiffany Garber, Aliyah Henry, Britta McCollum, Abby Meyer, Olivia Wood
  • Television News - Breaking News - Nathan Beekman, Grant Behrens, Logan Eddington

Varsity Division II Ratings:

  • Ensemble Acting - Dark Wind - Dominic Berry, Ashlyn Headlee, Britta McCollum, Hailey Vogel
  • Short Film - Dead Oak Island - Kennedie Davalos, Katie Dawson, Josie Novencido, Sarah Ramthun, Shelby Smith

JV Division I Ratings:

  • Musical Theatre - Wizard of Oz - Mina DeJong, Owen Hamlow, Aurora Johnson, Reyna Prado

JV Division II Ratings:

  • Choral Reading - The American Diner - Auctober Caquelin, Emma Connelly, Mina DeJong, Drew Essman, Leif Hamilton, Owen Hamlow, Parker Hansen, Aurora Johnson, Braden Kammerer, Logan Moenck, Mackinely Nore, Reyna Prado, Simeon Roberts, Alli Utley
  • Group Improvisation - HKL - Leif Hamilton, Braden Kammerer, Jordan Larrabee
  • One Act Play - Wilbur Saw it First - Emma Connelly, Drew Essman, Parker Hanson, Logan Moenck, Mackinley Nore, Simeon Roberts, Alli Utley

“Our kids put in a lot of time and effort to prepare and as a result had a fantastic day at District competition,” said Lindey Krug, FDSH speech coach. “I’m proud of all our students and am excited to see what we can do at State.”

« Back

© 2023 Fort Dodge Community School District. All rights reserved.