Fort Dodge Community School District

Job Opportunities                    FDSH Musical Tickets

FDSH Math & Science Recognition Honors 92 Seniors

March 19, 2019

March 18, 2019, Fort Dodge, IA -  The annual Fort Dodge Senior High Math and Science Recognition was held Monday, March 18.  Thirty-three seniors were recognized for their efforts in mathematics and 84 were honored for earning eight or more credits in science during their high school career. Students were also recognized for competition/contest results and additional awards and scholarships were handed out. 

Some of the notable awards given out included:

  • Iowa Academy of Science Outstanding Science Student Award – Anthony Wagner.  The minimum criteria for the recipient includes graduating senior status, eight semesters of science in high school including a full year of chemistry, minimum grade point average of B in all science courses, high school rank in the top 25 percent of graduating class and involvement in out of class science activities. Thirty-two FDSH students met the minimum requirement for this award.
  • Outstanding Math Student Award – Nehemiah Hippen.  The recipient of this award is determined based on credits, GPA (overall as well as math), ACT score, etc.
  • Lab Rat Award – Anthony Wagner.  This award is presented to the student who earned the most science credits during his/her high school career. Wagner earned 17 credits in courses that included chemistry, physics, AP chemistry, AP biology, and Iowa Central Community College human anatomy and physiology.

Dr. Megan Srinivas, FDSH graduate who pursued a career in a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) field, was the guest speaker. She has her Doctor of Medicine and Masters in Public Health and is currently an Infectious Disease Fellow at the University of North Carolina. She is also a physician at Community Health Center in Fort Dodge.

“STEM based careers are growing so it is important to recognize and encourage our students in the areas of math and science,” said Lauren Winter, FDSH science instructor. “This recognition event is a way for FDSH to recognize the students who have gone above and beyond the requirements in these areas and to honor students for special achievements in math and science.”

Students recognized for achievements in math included: Ebonee Altman, Emily Asay, Emma Baade, Elizabeth Baker, Lorenzo Bernardi, Nathan Blocker, Maddie Brehm, Kori Brennan, Drew Callon, Brant Christy, Jacob Cook, Aubrey Davis, Taegan Ekis, Brooke Erickson, Kacee Gollob, Karlee Grove, Leonardo Guillen, Molly Hartman, Nathanael Hayes, Nehemiah Hippen, Cameron Larson, Jordan Martin, Drake Miller, Christyn Nichols, Desiree Pineda, Laney Rees, Olyvia Selby, Kayla Smith, Marissa Smith, Anthony Wagner, Aaliyah Warland, Tessa Widen and Ellie Yoder.

Students recognized for achievements in science included: Ebonee Altman, Austin Andrews, Emily Asay, Emma Baade, Elizabeth Baker, Morgan Beisch, Robert Benson, Sierra Bethke, Nathan Blocker, Mason Bodholdt, DeAnte Bolden, Olivia Bork, Jeannie Boro, Maddie Brehm, Kori Brennan, Jayden Burke, Ty Busby, Drew Callon, Olivia Camamo, Makayla Carle, Alyssa Ryanne Catigbe, Maci Charon, Brant Christy, Michelle Cook, Takota Crabtree, Michael Dalke, Kylee Davis, Colby Dwight, Taegan Ekis, Brooke Erickson, Logan Finowski, Brianna Galvan, Hannah Gebers, Brandon Gehlhausen, Frank Goddard, Kacee Gollob, Boston Gordon, Brylea Grady, Karlee Grove, Emily Happel, Joshua Harrison, Molly Hartman, Nehemiah Hippen, Jordan Jackson, Michaela Kauffman, Kaydin Kazee, Kyanna Kirk, Jacob Klein, Cameron Larson, Marley Lo, Jordan Martin, Drake Miller, Addison Moritz, Jordan Myers, Kinsey Myers, Ashley Nachampassak, Kennedie Oldson, Cole Pearson, Jace Peterson, Desiree Pineda, Jayzon Potratz, Kennia Rebolloso, Sydney Recker, Gracie Redel, Laney Rees, Tatem Rees, Brooklyn Rowden, Nolan Slininger, Kaden Smith, Kayla Smith, Carson Spiker, Leander Terrell, Avery Thompson, Ethan Vinson, Anthony Wagner, Aaliyah Warland, Elizabeth Weber, Mackenzie Weber, Kirsten Wendell, Tessa Widen, Lucas Williamson, Madison Worley, Ellie Yoder and Logan Young.

The mission of the Fort Dodge Community School District is to provide quality learning experiences and build relationships that develop productive citizens ready for their futures.  For more information about the Fort Dodge Community Schools visit or call 515.576.1161.  Our Schools. Our Community. Our Pride.


« Back

© 2023 Fort Dodge Community School District. All rights reserved.