Fort Dodge Community School District

Preschool Preregistration    /     TK & Kindergarten Preregistration     /    P-EBT Parent FAQ

FDSH Seniors Honored for Math and Science Achievements

May 25, 2021

May 24, 2021, Fort Dodge, IA - Fort Dodge Senior High recognized 80 seniors for their efforts in math and science during high school. Eighteen seniors were recognized for completing Pre-Calculus, going beyond the math requirements for graduation and working toward the math required for STEM carriers. Sixty-two seniors were recognized for earning eight or more science credits during their high school careers.

Notable awards given out included:

  • Iowa Academy of Science Outstanding Science Student Award – Nathan Rethwisch.  The minimum criteria for the recipient includes graduating senior status, eight semesters of science in high school including two semesters of chemistry, minimum grade point average of B in all science courses, high school rank in the top 25 percent of graduating class and involvement in out of class science activities. Thirty-nine FDSH students met the minimum requirement for this award.
  • Outstanding Math Student Award – Alexis Read.  The outstanding Math Student Award goes to the senior who scored the highest on the American Mathematics Competition exam.  This is a national contest to find the best math students to make up a team for the International Math Olympiad. This award includes the Bill George Scholarship.
  • Lab Rat Award – Olivia Bell.  This award is presented to the student who earned the most science credits during his/her high school career. Bell earned 13 credits in courses that included Intro to Forensic Science, Chemistry A and B, Physics A and B, as well as Iowa Central Community College Human Anatomy and Physiology I and II.  

Students recognized for achievements in math included: Aidan Battcher, Shelbi Beckman, Reagan Black, Lauren Butler, Kolby Chounthirath, Eadin Clark, Christian Cote, Andrew Creger, Joshua Culver, Carter DeLanoit, Milo Hamilton, Kate Irving, Blaze Lo, Maddy Major, Joshua Meier, Alexis Read, Nathan Rethwisch and Matthew Ross.

Students recognized for achievements in science included (* denotes met criteria for Outstanding Science Student Award): Chase Anderson*, Kaleb Anderson, Matthew Anderson*, Drake Ayala*, Eva Baker, Shelbi Beckman*, Isabel Beekman* , Olivia Bell*, Reagan Black*, Moira Buie*, Lauren Butler*, D’Arien Calahan, Joshua Campbell, Kolby Chounthirath*, Ava Clay*, Dayson Clayton, Augusta Cook*, Rosalei Coppinger, Lane Cowell, Andrew Creger*, Jacy Daniel*, Madalyn Daniel*, Carter DeLanoit*, Tristin Doster*, Caden Elliott, Destiny Farhat, Nathaniel Galaviz*, Kamden Gilday-Dube, Brooke Greene*, Isabel Gruver*, Milo Hamilton*, Brooke Hansen*, Grace Hartley*, Carson Holtorf, Austin Jorgensen*, Joseph Kelley*, Colten Krantz, Foster Krug, Blaze Lo*, Owen Lowe, Kadyn Lundberg*, Maddy Major*, Hector Martinez*, Piera McBride*, Joshua Meier*, Cheyenne Miller-Hameed*, Macey Peterson*, Dreyzon Phillips, Zoey Possehn*, Jeffrey Pratkelis, Bethany Pyland, Alexis Read*, Nathan Rethwisch*, Dallas Richardson*, Jaedan Riley, Matthew Ross*, Ryan Rowe, Brandon Sayer, Antonio Sheibe, Sawyer Springer*, Aubrey Spurling, Kaidon Vandevanter and Ashlyn Wacholtz.

The mission of the Fort Dodge Community School District is to provide quality learning experiences and build relationships that develop productive citizens ready for their futures.  For more information about the Fort Dodge Community Schools visit or call 515.576.1161.  Our Schools. Our Community. Our Pride.




« Back

© 2021 Fort Dodge Community School District. All rights reserved.