Fort Dodge Community School District

Presidential Academic Excellence Awards to 8th Graders

May 15, 2013

May 14, 2013, Fort Dodge, IA-  Twenty-one eighth graders from Phillips Middle School were presented with the Presidential Academic Excellence Award for outstanding academic achievement on May 13. 

The Presidential Academic Excellence Award is earned by students who have a cumulative grade point of 3.5 or higher at Phillips Middle School and have Iowa Test of Basic Skill scores above the 85th percentile in either math or reading comprehension. This is the 20th year that Phillips Middle School students have been recognized with this honor.

Students recognized this year include: Noelle Barber, Anna Bruen, Myleesha Clayton, Brennan DeCoursey, Keaton Dornath*, Tristan Earnest, Kolton Eberle*, Jacey Farrell*, Dean Garland, Gavin Hansen, Seth Hanson, Megan Hartman, Hailey Johnston, Annalisa Laird, Gretta Leigh, Chloe Lentsch, Mercedes Loehr, Adam Moore, Taylor Potter, Andrew Ruge and Ryan Wagner. (* denotes a GPA of 4.0)

“Receiving the Presidential Academic Award is just one major accomplishment in a student’s academic career,” stated Loretta Martzahl, Counselor at Phillips Middle School. “The students who are presented this award have set an example for their peers as to what hard work and commitment can achieve, and the District is proud to acknowledge their dedication to outstanding academic achievement.”

The mission of the Fort Dodge Community School District is to encourage and assist each individual to achieve his/her level of educational excellence. For more information about the Fort Dodge Community Schools visit or call 515.576.1161. Our Schools. Our Community. Our Pride.




« Back

© 2019 Fort Dodge Community School District. All rights reserved.